Making Tinctures from flowers

My hawthorn flower tincture is brewing away nicely, almost ready.  The window of opportunity to pick the hawthorn flower seemed to have abruptly finished as quickly as it started this year and it passed me by before I realised that it was too late.  So there I was, head bowed down, disgruntled, dejected, disappointed that this year I was not going to be able to make hawthorn tincture when suddenly  I looked up and spotted a hawthorn in full bloom in the distance.    I made my way over and was so astonished to see all the blossoms still on the tree, still fresh, still worthy of picking.   I was lucky, very lucky indeed that this year one hawthorn tree decided to wait for my tardiness in collecting the flowers.  It’s like as if it said to itself  “that mad one in the gate lodge means to gather some hawthorn flowers this year but she hasn’t done it yet so I’ll give her a little more time to get up off her behind and gather some from my tree”  And that’s what I did.  It was like a gift out of heaven.

 

And today, I went out and picked some elder flowers and have them now ” stewing” away in a glass jar with vodka just covering them.  It’ll take a few weeks before I can try it.  But I can’t wait.  According to some sources, Elder Flower has many uses medicinally but also stimulates energy .  So if the “mad one at the gate lodge” is to get a new lease of life in the coming few weeks and is jumping for joy all around Charleville Forest, don’t be surprised!!

Leave a Reply

